A motor vehicle may be declared a lemon if it meets all of the following conditions:
- The vehicle has a serious defect or abnormal condition.
- The defect or condition is covered by a manufacturer’s written warranty.
- The owner reports the defect or condition to the dealer or manufacturer within the warranty term.
- The owner gives the dealer or manufacturer a reasonable number of attempts to repair the defect or condition.
- The owner gives the manufacturer (preferably by certified mail) written notice of the defect and at least one opportunity for repair.
- The defect or condition persists and substantially impairs the vehicle’s use or market value, or creates a serious safety hazard.
- The owner files a timely Lemon Law complaint and pays the filing fee.
3 Tests Under the Texas Lemon Law
If you have taken the vehicle to a dealership for repairs:
- two times for the same problem or defect within the first 12 months or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first, and
- twice more during the 12 months or 12,000 miles after the second repair attempt, and
- the problem is still not repaired — you pass the four-times test.
If you have taken the vehicle for repair of a serious safety hazard:
- once during the first 12 months or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first, and
- once more during the 12 months or 12,000 miles following the first repair attempt, and
- the problem is still not repaired — you pass the serious-safety-hazard test.
If your vehicle has been out of service for repair because of problems covered by the warranty:
- for a total of 30 days or more, not necessarily all at one time, during the first 24 months or 24,000 miles, and
- there were two repair attempts during the first 12 months or 12,000 miles immediately after delivery, and
- a substantial problem still exists — you pass the 30-days test.
Is Your Car a Lemon under the Texas Lemon Law?
If you have a vehicle that has had repeated repairs or has been out of service for several days, it may be a lemon under the Texas Lemon Law and you may be entitled to a cash settlement, refund or a new car.
Even if your vehicle does not meet the lemon law requirements, you may still be entitled to a cash settlement, refund or new car under federal law. These laws can apply to used cars too.
You paid a lot of money for your vehicle and cannot afford to delay in resolving the problems with your vehicle. The longer you wait, the harder it will be to resolve your lemon law case. You must act quickly and present your problems to the manufacturer. Our experienced attorneys are here to walk you through every aspect of the lemon law process and make it quick and easy. Most of all, we can put an end to the headaches with your car.
You Pay No Fee under the Texas Lemon Law
Please contact our Texas lemon law attorney if you believe that your car may be a lemon and he will provide you with free advice regarding your potential vehicle warranty claims. If The Lemon Law Attorneys represent you during the claim process, we will seek our fee directly from the manufacturer and never charge you for our services.
You pay nothing! Don’t delay, take two minutes now and end all the headaches with your vehicle. If you are having car problems, call us toll free at 1-877- 57-LEMON (1-877-575-3666) today to speak to a lemon law attorney at no cost to you. Or you can complete the email evaluation form for a free case evaluation.
Cities We Serve
We’ve helped people resolve their car problems in the following cities…and more! Don’t worry, if you don’t see your city on the list we can help anywhere in the state of Texas…and beyond! Call us today so we can add your hometown to the list.
N Richland Hills
If you are having car problems, complete the free case review form on this page or call us toll free at: